Ecurie Ecosse was founded by in 1952 by Edinburgh Accountant, businessman and racing driver David Murray. The other driving force in the team was experienced motor racing mechanic Wilkie Wilkinson. The dream was to create a world beating Scottish motor racing team. Their finest achievement was to win Le Mans in both 1956 and 1957. Over the years Ecurie Ecosse drivers have included Ian Stewart, Sir James Scott Douglas, John Lawrence, Ninian Sanderson, Jimmy Stewart, Jackie Stewart, Roy Salvadori, Innes Ireland, Jack Brabham, Ron Flockhart and many more.

Click on the image below to be taken to a gallery of Bill's photographs of the Ecurie Ecosse cars and related images. The majority of the photographs were taken at Scottish circuits.

Ninian Sanderson. D-Type Jaguar. Goodwood April 1956. Mouse-over this image to see Ron Flockhart at the same corner.

© W.Henderson . all rights reserved